Freefalling

Standard

writing

Hmmm! Twenty minutes of talking about anything. Sounds like my perfect assignment. I knew this would be a bigger ask than the last blog challenge, focusing as it does on my writing skills, and not just my ability to design a bit of artwork, or take a photo or fifty. But I want this really badly, I want to write endlessly. I had suppressed the urge, the itch in the back of my brain for so long, had a few painfully contrived attempts at writing as I thought I should, in a proper way, to suit other people, trying to please my imagined audience.

But then I found myself writing to someone who really knew me, who wasn’t phased by my madness, or fooled by my carefully crafted armour. I suddenly found myself being me again, letting the words flow, tumbling over themselves to escape, painting pictures, and weaving iridescent waves of laughter among the grimmest of moments. A delicious, glorious freedom.

Last week it almost stopped. I found myself under pressure to modify what I wrote, to sooth the ruffled feathers of those who  had perceived non-existent slights in my words. I felt deflated, almost tearful. But I decided to take no notice. If you don’t like what I produce, don’t read. Simples.

Hah!! Time up!!

About Thewitch

Nikki is a half centenarian, an eternal teenager, and mother of four geniuses. In her previous incarnation, she was a famous Parisian courtesan, and witch, thus explaining her habit of talking to the moon in french. Due to her inability to control her thought/speech processes, she writes about life, love, laughter and anything else that happens to spill out. Those of a strong constitution can read more on her About page.

10 responses »

  1. Excellent article. I’ve written about the honesty of writing and how you have to be true to what your thoughts are. People don’t have to agree and often they can’t separate the writing from the person. Good job.
    Much Respect
    Ronovan

    Like

Leave a Reply

