Poppies

Standard

image

image

I have just been to England on a flying visit, and rejoiced in the lushness of my mother’s garden. In particular these beautiful poppies, huge blooms over a handspan across, with their single alien eye staring out from the centre of their vibrant petals! Poppies are my new favourite flower. I want to be surrounded by them!!

About Thewitch

Nikki is a half centenarian, an eternal teenager, and mother of four geniuses. In her previous incarnation, she was a famous Parisian courtesan, and witch, thus explaining her habit of talking to the moon in french. Due to her inability to control her thought/speech processes, she writes about life, love, laughter and anything else that happens to spill out. Those of a strong constitution can read more on her About page.

19 responses »

    • Mother planted these last year, literally threw seeds around, they have come into their own now!! She suspects I am only interested for dubious narcotic reasons!! I just think they are beautiful!!

      Like

      • Hah – I have heard stories … especially abut those bright red ones … mine however are safely yellow, or they’re supposed to be!

        Like

  1. Just been to a garden centre and saw lots of poppies. There are a lot also growing along the sides of the roads. I believe that over in France they have fields of them just like the Dutch have fields of tulips in the Spring. I’m a daffodil man myself, but that’s probably down to being Welsh! Hope you had a good time here in the UK.

    Like

Leave a Reply

