25 Days – 25 Songs #8 – A Song That Reminds You Of Your First Love

Standard

 

beegeesHow Deep Is Your Love – The Bee Gees

No hesitation with this one!! I only need to hear the first few notes of this song to be transported back to my teens! Forme, it was definitely a case of love at first sight. I can still remember with absolute clarity the very first moment I saw him, and felt as if the world stood still. My stomach flipped over, he literally took my breath away!! I was only thirteen, but knew in that instant that I would never feel the same way about anyone else. Even the way he walked, a slightly arrogant bantam strut, made me smile. Although not a huge Bee Gees fan, this track just fitted.

Life intervened, and we parted after seven years together. But I never lost hope that I would see him again. I spoke to him in my head every day, and tried to imagine where he was, what he was doing, how he looked as he aged. And then, last year, he found me. The radio was on as I got ready for work, and my phone pinged, announcing an incoming email. As I opened it, this record started to play. The briefest of sentences, but as I read it, my world stood still again.

“Hi, how are you, it’s been a while?”

Thirty years of while!! A few weeks later I went to meet him. I worried that I wouldn’t recognise him, but in the middle of rush hour, surrounded by hundreds of people, from over fifty yards away, I saw him. And my stomach flipped over.

25-songs-blog-challenge5

About Thewitch

Nikki is a half centenarian, an eternal teenager, and mother of four geniuses. In her previous incarnation, she was a famous Parisian courtesan, and witch, thus explaining her habit of talking to the moon in french. Due to her inability to control her thought/speech processes, she writes about life, love, laughter and anything else that happens to spill out. Those of a strong constitution can read more on her About page.

15 responses »

  1. Why do you do this to me? – feeling all choked up again – and so envious. Knew those feelings, and I miss them dreadfully, but feel so happy that someone else has them, even if I can’t. I’m a hopeless romantic. 🙂

    Like

      • Stop pinching and the bruises will go away, trust to the Universe giving you what you deserve 🙂 (and I mean that in the nicest possible way) Hugs right back at you.

        Like

  2. Too cool, same thing happened to me a couple years ago. I got too see a long time girl friend from high school back in 1981, just as I got the blog comment of remember me? that old song….” Night Moves” by Bob Seger was playing and too me back 30 years, its was kinda cool..:-)
    p.s. I still play the Saturday night Fever soundtrack from time to time..;-)

    Like

Leave a Reply

