Twenty Five Days – Twenty Five Songs #1 – A Song From My Childhood

Standard

I have been following Mermaid Momma and fell in love with this idea for a post. So I asked her very nicely, and she said I could do it too!! Thank you!! A song a day for 25 days, with a different reason for each choice. So this is my Day One. A song from my childhood.

 

 

David Essex – Hold Me Close

I was in love with David Essex when I was ten!! I had his picture all over my bedroom wall, and knew all the words to all his songs. I would sit and grin soppily at the screen when he appeared on Top of the Pops, and tape his latest hit off the radio!! This song transports me back to that time, pre video and downloads, when I shared a bedroom with two of my sisters, and my tiny transistor radio was my most treasured possession. The garden we had at the time was split in two, the bottom end full of fruit trees and overgrown. I remember lying on my back in the long grass on warm summer sunday evenings with the radio clamped to my ear, listening to the top forty countdown,and planning my wedding to David! Makes me smile just thinking about it.

25-songs-blog-challenge5

About Thewitch

Nikki is a half centenarian, an eternal teenager, and mother of four geniuses. In her previous incarnation, she was a famous Parisian courtesan, and witch, thus explaining her habit of talking to the moon in french. Due to her inability to control her thought/speech processes, she writes about life, love, laughter and anything else that happens to spill out. Those of a strong constitution can read more on her About page.

6 responses »

    • Heheheh!! That’s cos you ain’t ancient like me!! And he is a very english star!! Actually a romany gypsy!! He has aged well, must be in his late sixties now!! I would still marry him!!

      Like

  1. What a fab idea for your posts, I look forward to reading more. Your garden listening sounds blissful, it makes me long for childhood again! He was in Eastenders a few years ago, haha!

    Like

    • It was an amazing garden, you could get lost in it. My grandmother’s was even better, it even had a fairy pool!! Hahah!! I didn’t miss an episode of Eastenders while he was in it!! 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

