Demons

Standard

demon

The Demons are back. 

They have been quiet for a while, but I know them.

They hide, gathering strength, waiting for that moment when the gap appears, so they can surge through, and take control once more.

Tormenting, twisting their fingers within my brain, whispering their taunts in my ears, goading, until I succumb to their lies, and can no longer hold onto me.

Forcing me down, until they encase me with their writhing bodies, and no matter how loudly I scream, no-one can hear.

And they are clever. So clever.

Because from the outside, the world sees a strong woman.

Not the terrified child, who needs someone to hold her hand, and keep her safe.

And so the battle begins again. 

About Thewitch

Nikki is a half centenarian, an eternal teenager, and mother of four geniuses. In her previous incarnation, she was a famous Parisian courtesan, and witch, thus explaining her habit of talking to the moon in french. Due to her inability to control her thought/speech processes, she writes about life, love, laughter and anything else that happens to spill out. Those of a strong constitution can read more on her About page.

29 responses »

  1. Here is my hand, hold tightly.
    There are many here who would make a huge circle for you Nikki, so never fear, many hands will hold and enfold you, protect and care for you.
    If all else fails, write the buggers into oblivion. Your words are so full of life and laughter and experience that they act like demon-repellant – knocks them out so they can’t control you.
    Much love.

    Liked by 1 person

      • The are tricksy and sly, but you are smarter than them. I’m off to move the daughter out to her first live-in, and it is my husbands birthday, the 11th since he died, so lots of temptation for me today. I will be thinking of you and fighting the good fight. 🙂

        Liked by 2 people

      • it was a horrible day, the flat wasn’t empty of stuff, wasn’t clean, and they’re not in there yet, having to stay at the boy’s mothers until his brother gets all his shit out of there and it can be cleaned properly. Hard to see my girl so upset and not settled in her new home. Feel like breaking that stupid mans kneecaps. So we had to clean out one room, move all her stuff there, then move his stuff around to be dumped at this Mums, whilst his Mum is madly trying to clean (and she was so upset and mortified about it all). Arrgh, got to stop talkig about it, doing my head in.
        Hope your day was 1000 times better than mine, huge hugs if it wasn’t.

        Like

    • Sorry it was all a bit poo!! I am glad my mother never got to see some of the awful places I had to live in when I left home, she would have dragged me back again!! Rotten when you are all psyched up for something and then it falls flat!! Is she in yet? How are you bearing up, my lovely? ❤

      Like

      • No, she still isn’t in, if I think about it I am going to cry (am crying). It;s still a mess with his things there, (and his wacked out girlfriends). The place is grime city, I tried to clean and all it does is spread the layers of crud everywhere else. it will never be clean without having a total reno, and that’s not going to happen. It’s all shit – sorry.
        Hope your demons are keeping away.

        Like

    • Hahahah!! Loving that!! Think I will use it too!! Fighting the prescription, though, taking enough stuff at the moment for exploding brain, I is rattling!! 🙂

      Like

  2. They must be having a fun day today because they have been scratching on the door of my brain. Especially today. We must fight the good fight together! You can beat them back and I will be right with you. Do not ever forget you are strong and you will overcome. Hugs!

    Like

    • Thank you, my wonderful man. Back in the room today, not easily knocked!! Gib is hot, wet, and windy!! Last gasp rain before summer really sinks its teeth in!! Have a drink for me!! 😀

      Like

  3. Pingback: Demons | Human Relationships

  4. above all things i would like to make things clearc . somme one should not pretend on such ideas to give opportunity to demons to be existed

    Like

    • I thought about trashing this comment. But instead I will say this. There is no pretence. My demons exist. And I fight them daily. And I will beat them. I am beating them. And meh!! I can spell!!

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Pingback: Demons - Human Relationships | Human Relationships

Leave a Reply

