Ring of (Icy) Fire

Standard

ring of fire

Today, I posted a comment in reply to The Opinionated Man‘s Daily Opinion question, ย ‘How long do you normally stay angry at someone?’ I said that it was normally about thirty seconds, and he seemed quite surprised at the speed. I was being honest.

Perhaps what he should have asked me was how long it takes me to become angry with someone? Because that answer may have surprised him more.

If asked, the majority of people who know me would describe me as easy going, positive, extrovert, and more than just slightly mad! They won’t, and will never see me angry. In fact, I am normally the peacemaker, stepping in to diffuse possible conflict, normally by making everyone laugh. I am the happy, smiley clown. A former work colleague once said that in moments of stress, my appearance was like a cloud of Valium!

But I have a temper. I am a redhead after all!! With a potent mixture of Celt and Eastender in my genes. I am not a push-over, and have no time for injustice of any kind. The reason for my apparent lack of aggression is quite simple. You wouldn’t like me when I’m angry!!

hulk

I have my father’s temper. Once the fuse has been lit, it is explosive, igniting a ring of fire around me, and burning all in its wake. While I freeze within its flaming heart. All other emotion wiped from me, just icy fury. It is short-lived, but violently destructive, and leaves me feeling physically and mentally exhausted. At its peak, I have no awareness of my words or actions, and that terrifies me. I loathe anything that makes me feel out of control. I drink but don’t do drunk , or stoned *, or very high rollercoasters with ridiculous names. Therefore I can count on the fingers of one hand the number of times I have actually succumbed to my anger.

So how long does it take to make me angry? Months, sometimes years. It takes a doggedly persistent person to push me to the point of no return. Those that have succeeded, never return. You have been warned.

*On the subject of being stoned, I have only ever had one drug related experience. At nineteen years old, ย friends persuaded me to join them in smoking a joint or two prior to an evening out. While all around me relaxed into giggling silliness, I felt no effect other than a ridiculously dry mouth, which meant my top lip got stuck every time I smiled. By the time we reached our venue for the evening, I was beginning to find the giggling silliness extremely irritating,and my head was hurting. I climbed onto a bar stool, and then had a fit. Literally. I started to jerk violently, and my gathered group, in their hazy happiness, thought I was dancing, and proceeded to clap along in time to the jerking, right up to the moment I fell off the stool. and hit the floor!!

I never indulged again!

About Thewitch

Nikki is a half centenarian, an eternal teenager, and mother of four geniuses. In her previous incarnation, she was a famous Parisian courtesan, and witch, thus explaining her habit of talking to the moon in french. Due to her inability to control her thought/speech processes, she writes about life, love, laughter and anything else that happens to spill out. Those of a strong constitution can read more on her About page.

18 responses »

    • But of course you should!! Have you not read the bestseller, by the esteemed behavioural science researcher, Lodak Rap, entitled Associated Redhead Rage Syndrome Exposed?!! (available in paperback under the condensed title A.R.R.S.E.)

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Ring of Fire surrounding my dish of chilli con carne | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  2. So, you like calling yourself an A.R.R.S.E then? ongue in check, oops, nearly bit it off laughing stupidly. ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚
    Enjoyed your post. I don’t have red hair, and it doesn’t take me long to get angry, but it DOES only last 30seconds for me too.
    I am a volcano, once I erupt it’s all over and you just have to wait for the lava to settle into hard black rock.

    Like

  3. Great post. Love your approach to the daily prompt and very pleased to see The Hulk. I tend to hold on to my anger because I can be brutally blunt and quite intimidating
    Once I’m over it there’ll be a lot of talking. That said, it takes a lot to make me angry. Really enjoyed your post.

    Like

    • That’s it!! I’m taking The Hulk off!! There I was thinking you were all coming to see me, but nooooo!!! It’s all about him!! Seriously? He’s green, for goodness sake! He is obviously on steroids, and a high protein diet, which means his breath smells! He obviously has self control issues!! And that hair?!! Please!!
      Glad you enjoyed the post. Typical of the odd tangent my mind wings down!! And talking is always good. I know, I don’t shut up!

      Like

      • Don’t do it! Please I beg you! The Hulk is incredible, green, on steroids, moody etc etc. I adore him and all his dysfunctions. I like troubled souls ha.
        It’s always good to talk, my friend. Enjoy the weekend and I look forward to reading more of your posts.

        Like

  4. Pingback: DAILY PROMPT: Ring of Fire | Nola Roots, Texas Heart

Leave a Reply

