Meet The Neighbours

Standard

Day Eleven. And we are encouraged to go out and meet the neighbours, and say hello. This is actually something I really enjoy doing, and make a point of looking at least half a dozen new blogs a day, as well as catching up on those that I already follow. I am naturally drawn to those blogs that have a similar feel to mine, but I love the diversity out there. And I am fascinated by being able to connect to people all over the world, who I may never have had the opportunity to meet otherwise. And in awe of the wealth of talent.

So these are the new flavours I tried out for this assignment.

I love poetry, have done since I was a child. One of my favourite poems from then was Escape at Bedtime, by Robert Louis Stevenson, in particular the line “and the pail by the wall, would be half full of water and stars.” I am also a huge fan of A.A.Milne, and can recite “The Knight Whose Armour Didn’t Squeak” off by heart. Occasionally, I am inspired to write some of my own, but it isn’t my natural style. I was absolutely delighted by this poem on Poesy Plus Polemics which was both brilliantly clever and deliciously funny.

I really admire determination in people who have a dream, and are determined to pursue it despite all the obstacles in their way.This came across really strongly in this post on The World According To Me. I had no focus at all when I left school and ventured into the big wide world and really admire people who know what they want to achieve, despite all the obstacles put in their way.

I love writing, love the feel and smell and taste of words, and the way they draw you into a story. I have an idea that bounces around my head for the book I want to write, but at the moment, it is still ricocheting madly, because I haven’t found a way of bringing it to life. So I am always in awe of people who have discovered that key. The Relative Cartographer has found a fascinating way of taking his in depth research into his family tree, and developing a story around it. It is a work in progress, but it has me hooked already!

Then there is wickedly funny madness!! I just let my imagination flow for my posts, everything in there is true, but I love to find laughter in even the most challenging of situations. I absolutely adored this page on The Odd Things for its blissfully crazy slant on something we have all done, whether conciously or unwittingly! I giggled for ages afterwards.

Can I just say that I would have dearly loved to have mentioned every single one of the blogs I read, and make a special mention for Claudette, who, as it turns out, is as completely mad as me!! And say a huge thank you to all of you for welcoming me into your community.

  

About Thewitch

Nikki is a half centenarian, an eternal teenager, and mother of four geniuses. In her previous incarnation, she was a famous Parisian courtesan, and witch, thus explaining her habit of talking to the moon in french. Due to her inability to control her thought/speech processes, she writes about life, love, laughter and anything else that happens to spill out. Those of a strong constitution can read more on her About page.

9 responses »

  1. Ooh, oooh, I only just saw this post. Ooh, Ooh, I am mad, I am mad, I am mad. Head swelling, swelling, lifting-off- the-floor-swelling. Uh oh, nail – BANG, hello floor.
    If I could I would post you Fred Bare, but I can’t, so I shan’t, so there. !
    Happy, happy, happy

    Like

  2. Hi, nikki! I saw this post not because I was notified, since I deleted by blog. I discovered I was one of your featured neighbor because I continue to visit your blog even if mine was deleted. :))) But I want you to know that my happiness is palpable after I read this and I’m a big fan of your writing expertise. You write like a pro, nikki! 😀 I’ll be back in blogging in time and I’ll follow you again!– The World According to Me blogger ❤

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

