This writing lark!!

Standard

I have come late to this writing lark, despite numerous suggestions from friends, family, and former teachers that this is where my talent lies. Which rather deflates the talents I think I have displayed in my working life to date. Some also indicated I should be on the stage, including one well meaning aunt, who described my face as an actress’s face, better seen in motion, totally destroying the small glimpse of confidence I had at the time!!. However, it has been at the urging of someone who has recently reappeared, someone who exploded into my life over thirty five years ago, that I have decided to take the first steps into the magical world of words.
I saw him for the first time when I was fourteen years old, and unlike the fairy tales, did not lose my heart, but handed it over willingly. I knew, in that instant, that I would never feel the same way again. He was my first lover, and I adored him. But life is a bitch. I had six years, moments of insurmountable pleasure, moments of heartbreaking pain. And then I lost him, despite my best efforts to hold him close. it broke my heart.
Six months ago, with two failed relationships, and four children to add to my C.V., he contacted me. Life is still a bitch, no fairy tale ending in sight, but over one thousand emails later, he has persuaded me to write the novel within me.
Write about what you know. Isn’t that the advice you are given? So I opted to write my story. Not all doom and gloom, or teenage angst, there are moments of glorious madness to be told. My children are beautiful, fiercely bright, and wickedly funny. What I wasn’t prepared for though, was the way writing about your life flays you alive. All the wounds you have licked, until they feel healed, are suddenly raw again. Memories you have suppressed, because they were too painful, suddenly surface again. When you re-look at situations you thought you handled perfectly, you squirm in horror. And there is way too much sobbing involved!! Piggy eyed, snotty nosed, give me a glass of wine sobbing!
I shall persevere, however. For those teachers, and friends, and family. And for him. Because ours may not be the perfect love story, but it will be the best damn story you have ever read!

About Thewitch

Nikki is a half centenarian, an eternal teenager, and mother of four geniuses. In her previous incarnation, she was a famous Parisian courtesan, and witch, thus explaining her habit of talking to the moon in french. Due to her inability to control her thought/speech processes, she writes about life, love, laughter and anything else that happens to spill out. Those of a strong constitution can read more on her About page.

2 responses »

  1. Pingback: This writing lark!! | Bob and Emily

Leave a Reply

